elenahpowell

Veschism: An investigation into the collection, use and significance of objects in art

In Rambling, Veschism on January 30, 2012 at 9:15 pm

The majority of my sketchbooks have been deposited into a safe cupboard, ready to be signed away on Wednesday…so I’ve started my 3,000 word essay which is basically meant to summarise what the hell I’ve been doing for the past six months. But to be more awkward I’m being quite specific, and focusing it on Veschism, the psychology of collection (and possibly creation) and the work of several artists who fall under the general category of veschist art (Candy Jernigan, Barton Benes & Martin Parr). It should be pointed out that ‘the general category of veschist art’ is entirely subject to my whim… Anyway. It’s fun because I get to go back to books on early twentieth century Russia (which is always fun)…but I have to 3,000 words by 8/2/2012 at the absolute latest (self imposed deadline – it needs to be ‘assessed’ for when I go to my interview at Swansea – did I mention that?).

I don’t have much to show for it, well I have two hundred words. But I’m not convinced they’re terribly exciting. And copy and pasting it here misses out all the far more interesting footnoted books… Speaking of books, my list of books I’m currently reading has grown again…

-E.

Leave a Reply

