elenahpowell

Unrelated things about food

In Rambling, Vegan baking on March 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

I don’t seem to have written anything remotely photography related for a while, I’ll come back to it when I have something to say. But maybe that isn’t so unusual, I think I’m a collector first & foremost. Photography is just how I express that. Before you start worrying I have no intention of stopping anything photography related, it’s still what I want to spend my life doing & there’s no chance of me doing my degree in anything else. Photography is what I love, maybe what I’m best it, but I don’t want it to totally define me or my work. I can do other things, I do do other things. Sometimes it’s nice to let those others breathe a little, give them space to grow and develop. This is turning out pretty photography related…ehm. Basically, I will stop photography things for a while – because that’s what my ‘artist’s compass’ is suggesting I do (and apparently that’s right 99% of the time), I’ll come back to it. I’ve been working pretty much full out on my coursework since June – and a lot of that wasn’t photography related – and I’m part way through my exam project, but in all honesty…nothing particularly amazing has happened yet. I have the ideas, I just need to stop for a while. Recharge. Otherwise I’ll just turn out a pile of shit.

Things are still happening. But sometimes I need to focus on something else for a while. I’m not worried about this project – it’ll sort itself out, once I’ve slept some more and caught up with other things I’ll come back to it and I’ll be able to do what I need to. For now I’m happy doing the housekeeping, doing the research & writing for my sketchbook, writing my book about Veschism.

I didn’t particularly plan on writing that here. I was meant to be telling you about the incredibly wonky hot cross buns (I wrote nuns twice) I mostly made. They taste pretty good.., I didn’t know they had cider in. Or honey.

20120325-033821 PM.jpg

The other unrelated thing is that I can actually see enough to play records, I’d kinda always assumed I couldn’t. But as long as I don’t have to find a specific track it’s just dandy. Which means I can now play my Beach Boys record loudly…perhaps not. I just found a song I’d forgotten about which was nice (Mirror In The Bathroom – The Beat).

  1. They were very tasty. It is good to take time to take stock and recharge your batteries!

Leave a Reply

