elenahpowell

Finished things…

In Edinburgh College of Art on February 15, 2013 at 7:13 pm

I’m kind of…done. Which is good, but bad because I like having stuff to do. Next week will be gallery-ing and attempting to start the essay (I still don’t quite know what I want to write yet) and not going to London because it made my head hurt and sounded far far far too stressful to be worth it. Another (more organised) time… Back to the point. I finished the rug yesterday (there was a victory dance involved). It’s so wonky I want to cry.

8474274694_5740bceed4_b-1

 

It’s been all over the place today – and before it was finished actually. Semi finished first…

8473187113_527c979ba8_b

 

8474775003_ac7a94c754_b

 

8475919211_42a543a738_b

 

8476998844_6329c1e0eb_b

 

It started off out of the way before making it to the main doors. It’s really odd how no one wants to walk on it – I sat and filmed for a while and people would walk in really odd ways just to avoid stepping on it. Which is quite sweet in a way, because it’s not being ruined by their feet, but annoying because it’s been made to stand on, it feels nice to stand on. I’ve got a load of screenshots from the video (because it’s shit video really) which are interesting. It’s been moved more out of the way (it’d been kicked to one side eventually), we’ll see if it’s still there whenever I’m next in. It’s quite obvious it’s me though, seeing as I had to take it round everywhere and sat staring at it for ages. I don’t know whether crazy rug girl is better than indecisive whisky girl or crazy cat lady. Probably not.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 14.57.43

 

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 14.58.20

 

There’s not a whole lot to say about it really…as a ‘thing’ it’s alright (which is annoying, the amount of time it took). The radio stuff is far more interesting, and might go somewhere and I just like that more (possibly because it hasn’t actually happened yet, it could still be crap). We’ll see. There’s a lot to talk about, because I’ve been sort of working on it since last year (I love being able to say that), and I have no idea how to condense that into something coherent for a crit. Hm. It won’t be disastrous, I don’t think, even if we do get graded on nine things instead of three. The next two projects could be disastrous because they’re worth something/important, and the one after could be simply because it involves showing work. But – exciting things – I’ve been officially switched to Intermedia, which is quite lovely.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 19.03.19

 

So much of a life today, I could almost keel over. Good coffee, and toilets that make me happy.

8475916321_12bf866afe_b

 

And (early – but after four, which is apparently the point after which drinking whisky becomes acceptable) whisky, nothing new. It’s still so novel that we actually go do something that it does deserve to be added onto here.

8475737693_8a56731c8b_b

Leave a Reply

