elenahpowell

I’ve gone back to string

In Edinburgh College of Art on March 7, 2013 at 9:10 pm

I was not drawing string for a while…well, a few hours. I just didn’t like them as much as the string, well no. Not quite true, I liked some of them, but it’s more obvious my drawing is ehm…not amazing, with string it’s harder to tell. Because it’s just squiggles and I’d (almost) say I was kinda good at squiggles. So I started dropping string and drawing lots of layers of that to make shapes this afternoon. I’d been drawing…everyday things, I want a better way to say it, because otherwise I’m going to get really sick of saying that seeing as that’s the basis of most/all intermedia projects. Nothing wrong with that, I like that. Just need a nicer way of saying it. Anyway…and filling in the shapes with lines (they looked a bit odd, just as line drawings, and maybe a bit too much like crap versions of these), it was nice just to…fill them in a way. I never knew how hard it was to draw a pair of scissors! It looked like an ass for absolutely ages. I just…didn’t especially like them that much. Pictures anyway.

8533760293_debc0fa7ce_b

8534206666_0e746293a7_b

8534865628_ac856dd4fb_b

8534869242_45d7777da1_b

 

I embraced the paper bags again. It’s really odd if you stick your head in it. I kind of like it as a ‘secret drawing’, kinda tempted to go with that. Because I really have no idea how I’m going to show these, which is bad because we have a week left. Maybe secret drawings are the way forward.

8531121587_4db38f5252_b

8531133429_e4e6b116fa_b

8532223904_066d53a32c_b

 

Essay has slightly progressed, I was meant to be finishing a paragraph today (all I’ve actually done is talk and done a few crap drawings and return library books – the main library is nice for returning books, there’s a little conveyor belt thing that takes them away!) but I’ve just rewritten the introduction-y bit so it makes more sense. I’ve got two or three paragraphs being written simultaneously (not actually simultaneously, but I’m switching between them – you know what I mean), which is why there’s suddenly 400 and something words. Most of them are crap, and are just filling space so I can cut them out and feel better in a bit. I’m going for the loosest possibly definition of fluxus imaginable, which possibly defeats the point of choosing it. Answer in a nutshell: some of it was really crap, some of it was alright and nice things did happen – and some nice work came out of it, even if it was pretty crap.

Screen Shot 2013-03-07 at 20.41.24

Leave a Reply

