elenahpowell

Did I Shave My Legs For This?

In Days, Edinburgh College of Art on March 27, 2013 at 12:47 pm

It’s Quirky Country Music Song Titles Day, I meant it about doing as many days as possible…there was a choice of 3 this morning and this was the only one I felt like doing (it’s also National Joe Day, but I don’t want to be called Joe). I listened to one song and hope to never repeat the experience, but I like the titles… I couldn’t find who wrote many/most of them, so we’ll just trust the internet that they do exist. There’s lots and lots, so some highlights from my extensive research (I have been working all morning, it’s just that working currently involves looking up song titles).

Get Your Tongue Outta My Mouth Cause I’m Kissing You Goodbye

Did I Shave My Legs For This?

If You Ever Get The Feelin’ I Don’t Love You, Feel Again

Get Your Biscuits In The Oven And Your Buns In The Bed

He’s Got A Way With Women And He’s Got Away With Mine

You’re The Reason Our Kids Are So Ugly

I Don’t Know Whether To Kill Myself Or Go Bowling

If I Can’t Be Number One In Your Life Then Number Two On You

Come Out Of The Wheatfield Nellie, You’re Going Against The Grain

I Keep Forgettin’ I Forgot About You

Hand Me The Pool Cue And Call Yourself An Ambulance

If Whisky Were A Woman I’d Be Married By Now

Mess Up In Mexico, Living On Refried Dreams

I Still Miss You Baby, But My Aim’s Getting Better

If I’d Killed You When I Wanted I’d Be Out Of Jail By Now

Velcro Arms, Teflon Heart

My Wife Ran Off With My Best Friend But I Sure Do Miss Him

If You Can’t Live Without Me Why Aren’t You Dead?

Which kind of leads into something else entirely, I thought the other day of only speaking in song lyrics for a set period of time, main problem being I can’t remember lyrics to save my life. Last night I decided I could probably manage talking in song titles, and these have added to my…repertoire I suppose. Something for another time though I think. I’ve made a very long list of as many (inter)national days as I can, some of them I doubt anyone does, but sticking ‘National’ in front of something makes it at least sound official. I was trying to see if there was any real process for making a national day, but it seems slightly random. I did find out that 2013 is the International Year Of Quinoa though. I’m going to graph them all in a sec, but I think March 20th is the most popular day, there’s only a handful of days in December with nothing…

Some vague rules for observing days (that I’m coming up with on the spot so I don’t completely over do it):

-If there are multiple days per date, not all of them have to be observed.
-But if several work well together by all means go ahead and do them all.
-If they involve eating meat/fish/anything yucky, don’t do it.
-If they involve being an arse, think about it first.
-If you say you’re doing it, you’re damn well doing it.
-‘Observing’ can refer to: researching, thinking, doing, making, telling someone, wearing something specific and whatever else. It needn’t be for the full twenty four hours.

That’ll do I think…there’s an awful lot of days. Expect a lot of pointless blogging (well, more than normal). I need to plan Snufkin Day (meaning work out what I need to take with me), get more film developed (I went back to the canal quickly this morning, so there’s one from the Lubitel, one I found in a Holga from I-don’t-know-when and a half done one in the Diana) and finish the very big bit of paper covered in writing. But to do that I need to go back to the canal again, this morning didn’t fill it up at all. Stuff to do…

Leave a Reply

