elenahpowell

North facing windows

In Edinburgh College of Art, Rambling on April 25, 2013 at 1:40 pm

There’s windows that face north, looking out towards where I walked to (just about). So work ended up there. Figured no one would want windows and there actually wasn’t a whole lot of free wall space yesterday (given how big it looked on Monday). It all seemed like a good idea at one point, and at one point there was going to be text on the other side too so it made nice patterns with light coming through but I completely forgot about that until it was up and too late. Decent pictures tomorrow.

8675183890_11308388bc_b

 

8679263512_f142f61e30_b

 

8679263926_91b4190843_b

 

So empty. Nice being able to see what everyone’s been doing though.

8677062299_008aba2fec_b

There’s only one thing I can think of that needs doing (putting up a little statement-y thing) and then I’m done as a done thing. It needs the statement to make any sense at all I think, which is annoying in a way because it’d be neat if it didn’t and if it said everything all by itself, but given that it’s nearly impossible to read and the only way for it to make sense is to be read…hm. Although I’m happier with the statement thing than with the bits of canvas, so I wish I’d just written something like that instead. Agghhh.

statement-titleI decided they were drawings, couldn’t think what else to call them. And I know overfoot isn’t really a word, but it fitted. Put that up tomorrow, I’m staying in bed (mostly) feeling ill (like something’s crawled into my head and died and the only way to get it out is to constantly sneeze). Assessment was…not amazing. Less said about it the better. I think I’ve done enough to not fluff it all up now, but who knows.

It’s frustrating how in the studio – or just when it’s in the process of being made – that things look…better, and how I wanted. And then it gets taken somewhere else and put up like it’s a thing that wants to be looked at and it’s nothing at all like how I thought it should be. I know I’m really really terrible at actually showing things – well no, I don’t mind showing things like this – but to only put up one or two things is eugh, because the interesting bit – or what I think is the interesting bit – is more often the research-y bit, the doing, and I can do that. It’s all…one big ‘thing’, and lots of it doesn’t work and some of it does and some of it’s nice, but they’re all linked together and following on from each other. I don’t know, I don’ t know if it’s possible to choose something that sums all that up, and I don’t want to show everything either. Maybe I don’t want to show anything at all, but I can’t see that going down too well. Partly I don’t quite know what I’m doing, partly a lot of it wasn’t meant to be shown and partly a lot of it isn’t right or good enough to be shown. Maybe I’ll figure it out one day. I’m happy writing about it and that’s about it.

I thought the last exhibition thing was kinda bad, but compared to this it looks pretty good – maybe more in a showing things way than a ‘this lead to this to this to this and I ended up here’ way. If that makes sense at all? I’m not sure if I’ll do the Glasshouse Request or not, not really written anything for it. If I can string words together then perhaps. I have a pseudonym now, but if I told you I’d have to kill you. But that’s this year over really…scary. I won’t be an ickle firstie for much longer. Been lovely though, apart from this last week and trying to actually get something up on a wall (well, window).

 

Leave a Reply

