elenahpowell

Books books books

In Books, Edinburgh College of Art, Rambling on May 5, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Would you believe I finished a book yesterday? Never mind that I didn’t start reading it until yesterday… I’d been meaning to for ages, and it seems a library-imposed deadline works wonders for making me finish things (I timed it just right, instead of 3 hours I got to keep it over night…). Got distracted from original research of looking at pictures of very very very old bread ovens and such and started reading about site specific things and performance and cities. Seemed relevant. Although I gave up on The Analysis of Performance Art, it sounded interesting and I started it and I think if I read it it’d completely put me off anything remotely performance-y. So I stopped. Yup, exciting weekend in the library (today was less exciting – woo postmodernism – and gallery-ing postponed til Tuesday). Anyway, there was some nice bits and pieces, always definitions.

‘site’: substantive […] local position… The place or position occupied by some specified thing. Frequently implying original or fixed position.
‘site’: 1. transitive. To locate, to place
2. intransitive. To be situated or placed.

Kaye, 2000: 1

‘palimpsest’ paper which has been written upon twice, the original having been rubbed out.

Kaye, 2000: 9-10

Modernism’s celebration of the city seems to have given way, via alienation, to despair

Miles, 1997: 25

To move the work is to destroy the work.

Serra in Kaye, 2000: 2

Where is our space?

Perec, Approaches To What? (1973)

…space is a practiced place […] the street defined by urban planners is transformed into a space by walkers

Kaye, 2000: 4

cities are socially produced rather than the product of a biological inevitability

Miles, 1997: 19

referring to Nights in This City –

…both a map of space and a map of states of mind…
…writing over the city…

Kaye, 2000: 8

The intermedial response can be applied to anything

Kaprow, The Education of the Un-Artist (1971)

anthropological place – ‘framed by individual identities, through complicities of language, local references, the unformulated rules of living know how.’

Augé in Kaye, 2000: 9

IMG_7699

IMG_7701

Some of it isn’t relevant, strictly speaking, but I’m going for the ‘everything and anything I read might be useful eventually’ approach (again). Hence re-reading things I’ve read already – I couldn’t find my notes, and I couldn’t remember enough for it to make sense and I need something to do. I’m planning on going through all the interesting essays/chapters from this year again (not as many as you might think, only seven or so) and then other things I’ve found along the way… I’m going for the ‘pick a book based on cover and/or title and/or without looking’ approach in the library too – so far I’ve ended up with a reader on postmodernism because it had a nice cover, The God Delusion and The Plague of Fantasies. I’m not entirely sure either.

It’s the sort of research to keep me happy more than anything, it’ll probably be useful at some point. I’ve got a little list of things I want to try out once I’m back in Leicester though, which I suppose is good enough for now. Including maps…always maps. It’s…odd doing something just because I can, rather than because I have to (not that I dislike having to do work mind…), and not getting graded on it. I can do grading criteria fairly happily. Strange indeed.

And something else just because I can… Glasshouse Request is definite as a sort-of-definite thing can be. Mine is in there somewhere, how absolutely exciting and amazing and lovely is that? Or I think so anyway. Possibly only because it doesn’t have my name on it, I’m sure I wouldn’t think it quite so lovely otherwise.

IMG_0789

This isn’t terribly exciting at all, just a long list of words I’ve stolen out of books. But books are lovely things. I’ve listened to this an awful lot for some reason, good for writing. Today is a hard day to do, given that I don’t eat oysters (oyster day). I can manage tomorrow though, beverage day, amongst other things. Tuesday is another no – roast leg of lamb day.

Leave a Reply

