elenahpowell

I’ve given up on not acquiring more stuff.

In Edinburgh on June 1, 2014 at 5:24 pm

I like things too much. So… a sewing machine has been acquired. Well, it was left on the street (by a bin, not just on the street), so it got carted back here. It works fine (although I’m yet to try threading it), it is missing the box-y-base-part, so it’s sat in a box for now. Eventually I’ll get a proper box thing made up and it’ll look a lot nicer… I’ve had great fun making holes in things though. (In Going Postal there’s this great bit about perforations, it’s like that).

14134423387_3fc0ca164a_b

14297879366_fa812b4301_b

14297903126_9626a90903_b

14319158342_d2339207d5_b

14320992685_383e7c28a3_b

14317712481_c562d6fe19_b

 

Going from the serial number it’s from 1914 (good coincidence). It was next to (an apparently) working shredder, if we hadn’t just bought a shredder for the shop I’d have taken that too… Even if I can’t thread it/it doesn’t sew for some reason I’m more than happy punching holes in things (it’s great, seriously). I was sewing into paper a while ago, maybe I can do it properly now. Or at least in a less cack way (but then if it isn’t cack I can’t have done it…).

I (eventually) worked out how to replace the ribbon in the typewriter, although I was typing so much that it got used up very quickly (several times). So I had to buy another ribbon (that wasn’t two colours) so I can re-ink it. Even though the ribbon is the right size, the spools are always slightly too big, so it has to be rewound onto the original spools (I have a system now, involving pencils and balancing bits and pieces). It’s a bit of a faff and I don’t need to type too desperately yet, so it can wait. Nails broken so far: 1

I’m slowly working through everything I should have read already, and some things I’ve already read (Lirael, re-reading Douglas Adams when I get a chance). I just ordered Crystallography by the same guy that wrote Eunoia, which I really liked. I’m heading off in a text-based direction, and not hand-based at all. Oh well, doing is doing. I’m hoping to sneak back into the studios in a few weeks or so, whenever degree show is out of the way, so I can have somewhere to work again. Turns out I don’t work well from home. Got to go punch more holes in things…

Leave a Reply

